

## The 45 International Mathematical Olympiad 6-18 July, 2004, Athens, Greece

A Report by Wong Yan Loi

he 45th International Mathematical Olympiad was held in Athens, Greece from 6 to 18 July 2004. A total of 486 contestants from 85 countries or regions participated in this IMO. The Singapore National Team to the 45th International Mathematical Olympiad consisted of the following:

Dr. Wong Yan Loi (National University of Singapore, Team Leader)

Mr.Teo Teck Kian, Thomas (Victoria Junior College, Deputy Leader)

Mr.Tan Weiyu, Colin (Former Contestant, Observer) Anand B. Rajagopalan (Raffles Junior College) Chen Chongli, Daniel (Hwa Chong Junior College) Kueh Ju Lui, Andre (Raffles Junior College) Sia Jia Min, Charmaine (Raffles Junior College) Tay Jingyi, Kenneth (Anglo-Chinese Junior School) Tay Wei En, Joel (Raffles Junior College)

After several days of deliberation, the Jury, consisting of team leaders of all the participating teams, chose 6 problems for the contest. The contest itself was held over two days on 12 and 13 July. On each day, contestants were given 4.5 hours to solve 3 problems.



From left to right: Sia Jia Min Charmaine, Tay Wei En Joel, Chen Chongli Daniel, Kueh Ju Lui Andre, Tay Jingyi Kenneth, Anand B.Rajagopalan

The team leader and the deputy for each country then graded the scripts of their contestants and the final score was then determined after coordination. In the end, the Jury decided the cut-off scores for recipients of the gold medal at 32 points, silver medal at 24 points and bronze medals at 16 points.

Kueh Ju Lui Andre, Tay Jingyi Kenneth and Tay Wei En Joel received Silver medals. Anand B. Rajagopalan, Chen Chongli Daniel and Sia Jia Min Charmaine received Bronze medals. Unofficially, the team ranked 18.



Photo taken with President S.R. Nathan and Mrs Nathan at the Istana

A total of 45 gold, 78 silver and 120 bronze medals were awarded at the closing ceremony held at Athens Concert Hall.

The Singapore International mathematical Olympiad Committee 2004 consists of Tay Tiong Seng (Chairman), Wong Yan Loi (Deputy Chairman), Tan Hwee Chiat June, Lee Sharon, Chua Seng Kee, Chua Seng Kiat, Lang Mong Lung, Leung Ho-Hon Denny, Leung Ka Hin, Poh Kheng Siong Roger.

The SIMO website is at http://sms.math.nus.edu.sg/ SIMO/SIMO.aspx